For over 65 years, Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe has been helping people in need. Our headquarters are in Berlin.

Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe is the humanitarian aid agency of the Protestant Regional and Free Churches in Germany. Since the 1st of March 2021, Rev. Dr. Dagmar Pruin has been President of Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe and, simultaneously, Chair of the EWDE. Martin Kessler has been Director of Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe since May 2019.

We provide assistance: to people who have become victims of natural disasters, war and displacement and who lack the resources to cope with the crisis situation on their own. We also provide support in response to “forgotten disasters” that receive little public attention.

Our partners: we usually work together with partner organisations from the country concerned and are a member of the global church-based aid coalition ACT Alliance. This means that we already have a presence on the ground, when help is needed.

Our principles: respect for human dignity is our guiding principle. Our support is specifically adapted to meet the needs of the people affected. In conflict regions, we maintain strict neutrality.

Our commitment: we provide assistance irrespective of religion, skin colour and nationality – quickly, reliably, effectively and in an unbureaucratic manner. We stay as long as our presence is required. From emergency relief and reconstruction to disaster prevention, we stand alongside those in need.

Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe finances its work primarily through donations and state funding and, since 1993, has been awarded the donation seal of the German Central Institute for Social Issues (DZI).


Three committees determine the work of Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe. Their members work on a voluntary basis, with no remuneration. The Diakonie and Development Conference (Konferenz Diakonie und Entwicklung) is the supreme decision-making body of the Protestant Agency for Diakonie and Development. Its 112 members make decisions on the agency’s fundamental policy issues. It approves the budget and annual accounts as well as discharging the Supervisory Board and the Executive Board. Its Chairperson is Dr Johanna Will-Armstrong, Executive Board member of the von Bodelschwingh Institutions Bethel (v. Bodelschwinghsche Stiftungen Bethel).

The 22 members of the Supervisory Board (Aufsichtsrat) oversee the implementation of the decisions of the Diakonie and Development Conference, appoint the Executive Board members and oversee their work. Its Chairperson is Bishop Dr Beate Hofmann, Evangelical Church of Hesse-Waldeck (Evangelische Kirche von Kurhessen-Waldeck).

The 18 members of the Development Service and Humanitarian Aid Committee (Ausschuss Entwicklungsdienst und humanitäre Hilfe) advise the management of Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe and Brot für die Welt on issues concerning development and funding policy, humanitarian aid, communications, fundraising and education. Its Chairperson is Bishop Dr Christian Stäblein, Evangelical Church in Berlin-Brandenburg-Silesian Oberlausitz (Evangelische Kirche Berlin-Brandenburg-schlesische Oberlausitz).


An overview of our current structures with the responsible staff members: Here you can download our organigram.


Annual Reports

Annual Report 2022

Annual Report 2022

Download (PDF)

In the annual report you will find transparent and clear information about the aid programmes we have carried out worldwide. You will find background reports, information on our working methods and the balance sheet and annual accounts.

Annual Report 2021
Annual Report 2020
Annual Report 2019


EWDE - Evangelisches Werk für Diakonie und Entwicklung e.V.

Together with Brot für die Welt (Bread for the World) and Diakonie Deutschland, Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe is part of the Evangelisches Werk für Diakonie und Entwicklung e.V. (EWDE – Protestant Agency for Diakonie and Development) in Berlin.

With the founding of the EWDE in 2012, the Protestant Churches in Germany and their diaconal agencies were responding to the demands of a globalised world. The EWDE brought together Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe, the Diakonisches Werk der EKD (Diaconal Agency of the Protestant Church in Germany), Brot für die Welt and the Evangelischer Entwicklungsdienst (Protestant Development Service), thereby facilitating improved co-ordination of the international humanitarian aid, development work and national diaconal work. The EWDE is led by a full-time, remunerated Executive Board. Its members are appointed for a six-year term by the Supervisory Board. The current members are Rev. Dr Dagmar Pruin (Chair, President of Brot für die Welt and Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe), Rev. Ulrich Lilie (Deputy Chair, President of Diakonie Deutschland), Maria Loheide (Social Policy Diakonie Deutschland) and Dr Jörg Kruttschnitt (Finances, Human Resources and Legal Affairs).